Skip to content

So much going on!!

July 17, 2011

First I have to say that I am sorry for neglecting my blog. I’ll try not to let that happen again.

These rainstorms and fireworks are the pits. It’ July 17 and some moron was lighting off fireworks this morning. I’ve found some suitable hiding spots… my dog house in the living room, my parents closet, and the desk. My FAVORITE hiding spot is in the new office that my parents are building behind the house. The A/C runs constantly so you can’t hear a thing, but I can only go out there when they are working on it.

Wow. You should’ve seen me on Friday. The day started off normal; a nice sunny day, romping through the tall grass, chasing squirrels. Then all of a sudden these two dogs show up in my yard! BARK! Who the hell are these two and how did they get back there? Well it turns out that they got loose, had no tags and my mom wanted to protect them from getting run over… but boy was it a shock. I wanted to go play with them, but my mom rushed in the car since we were going to see my friend the vet.

I love going to the vet. Sure, they stick needles in me, but they’re all really nice. They give me treats, talk doggy talk to me… it’s my sister who gets scared. Even when they have to draw my blood for testing, it’s not like it takes 2 months… it’s 1 minute and it’s over. Big deal. Well… everything was going pretty normal, they weighed me, took my blood, gave me kisses… and then the loudest thunder I’ve ever heard made me jump. I practically ran into the room where my mom and sister was. I don’t remember much of what the doctor said, but later that night my mom told my dad that he’s never seen a dog shake so bad. Luckily they gave me drugs, which made me stop shaking. Boy was that awful. When we were checking out of the vet’s office the power went out three times. It looked like a hurricane. It was raining sideways!! IT WAS AWFUL! So I guess I have some good drugs now. The vet told my mom that if I shake like I did on Friday the max that she could give me at one time is 4… 4?!?!?! I’ll be passed out for hours! She said that she wouldn’t do that though.

Crazy Lighting

I hate thunder and lighting... and this is why.

Recently she’s been talking about getting something called the thunder shirt. I’m not sure what that is, but she said that it might help with my nervousness. Sometimes I want to be like my sister and not shake at all. She even walks out in the rain… weirdo. But, I will say that after I took the drugs that the Dr. gave me I was able to go outside and go to the bathroom. If I hadn’t have taken those drugs… I would probably still be cowering in the house.

Oh… I forgot to tell you about the dogs that my mom found. Knowing that we were late for the vet visit she put the two dogs (there were a total of three but she couldn’t catch the third one) in the back yard, so when we got back from the vet she could continue to knock on doors to find out if they belonged to someone. In the pouring rain all three of us… my, my bratty sister and my mom went looking for them… but they were gone! They dug their way out! They were considerably smaller than we are… believe me we are baffled as to how they got out. We’ve been trying to dig for years. My mom got really nervous. What happened if they got out and no one could find them? What if they got hit by a car? She called Pet Rescue by Judy (which is where she adopted me from… and where she volunteers to take photos of adoptable dogs) and they said that the dog escaped from one of the foster families and they were beside themselves sad.

Lake - adoptable dog at PRBJ

Here's one of the photos that my mom took at Pet Rescue by Judy

Well. I guess that I should get going. My parents have to finish the office… and my mom said that she is making new beds for us! We get to stay in there whenever we want!!!

I’ll try to make my next post sooner… like in a couple of days. Since it’s nice out right now I think I should go chase some squirrels and lizards… they know whose boss!!

Paws and Licks,
Sydney

No comments yet

Leave a comment