Skip to content

Fun in the sun!

June 15, 2011

I knew it. Every time I see those suitcases, I know that my parents are going somewhere. This time they took us.

We got to ride in the new car, but it’s still too small. Don’t tell my mom. We were trapped in the car for 8 hours! Even when we go to visit our grandparents it’s only 6 and a half years. When we got to Key West we checked in and got a lot of attention at the front desk! They have cookies there! I was too excited so I gave mine to my sister. We were pretty tired so we slept most of the night. I don’t think that other dogs who haven’t been in the car for 8 hours realize that it’s really hard to sleep… especially when your 70 pound sister sits or steps on you.

Stuck in the car

Stuck in the car


My parents left and came to the hotel back acting different. They had something called beer? I guess they did something called a “crawl”. I don’t know what that is, but they must have had fun.

On Saturday we got to leave the hotel. We went to the dog park. Did I mention that I love dog parks? Well we spent about 45 minutes at the dog park before leaving and taking a long walk. IT WAS HOT! Even my mom was sweating! At the dog park I discovered a new animal that I would like to err… um… play with. Roosters! They are cocky (get it?) and loud. I kept snapping at it but it wouldn’t move. Unfortunately I was on the other side of the fence so it was hard for me to catch it. My mom said that they have spikes that could poke me… but I haven’t met an animal that I haven’t conquered.

Key West was pretty nice. They people were all really friendly, and I hear that most of the stores are dog friendly. We didn’t get to go though. My parents were going to my uncle’s wedding so that took up most of the afternoon. We had fun though. Even the time that we spent in the hotel room wasn’t bad, we got treats and peanut butter filled bones!

On Sunday we went to the dog beach… or what they call the dog beach. It was only about as big as my backyard. I mean really! I did go swimming… although I wasn’t really sure about the waves. My sister went in too… but she doesn’t like the water like I do.

After swimming at the beach

After swimming at the beach

My sister and I at the beach

My sister and I at the beach

On Monday we left. I could’ve stayed longer and checked out the island a little more, but my mom and dad had to get back to work… after all they have to support me right? I was happy to head home, but didn’t want to go back in the car for 8 hours.

When we got home I had to check out the backyard and see which of my furry friends had visited. Unfortunately because of a thunderstorm, I wasn’t able to fully investigate my yard. I don’t really like thunderstorms, so I stick close to my mom and dad.

Well, off to take my nap before my walk. I will write more in a few days… once something exciting happens.

Paws and licks,
Sydney

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 4:15 pm

    I’m glad you got to have at least a little fun for all that riding in the car!

    I have a small car. Typically, Daisy lays taking most of the backseat up and Bella tries to stand around her.

Leave a comment